Once you’ve earned your Level 1 Learner’s License, and are feeling comfortable behind the wheel, it’s time to start thinking about signing up for the next class. Segment 2 is a state-required class designed to teach students defensive driving techniques and review materials taught in Segment 1. By law you have to wait 3-months from receiving your Level 1 Learner’s License to take the class.
Students must have completed Segment 1 and must wait 90 days after receiving their Level 1 license before registering for Segment 2. It is this in-between time (between Segment 1 & 2) that students are to be gaining experience by accumulating drive time.
6 HOURS OF CLASSROOM
Segment 2 is held over a period of three days. Each class is 2 hours in length and does not involve driving. Segment 2 is designed to get teens ready for their first experience of driving alone along with preparing them for the road test. Students share their behind-the-wheel experiences.
Segment 2 consists of three separate 2 hour classes. There is no behind-the wheel instruction.
Students must have logged 30 hours of the required 50 hours of driving time with their parents (2 hours of night driving)
Documentation of logged hours along with a parent signature as verification of said hours is mandatory.
TOPICS DISCUSSED IN SEGMENT 2
As mandated by the State of Michigan, students learn about risk—the dangers of distracted, impaired, fatigue and emotional driving AND learn strategies for safety.
COST OF CLASS:
$50 which must be paid IN FULL by the first day of class.
WHAT DO I BRING TO CLASS?
Students must bring in their Level One License (NOT the green certificate of completion) and a copy of their logged driving hours.
COMPLETION OF SEGMENT 2
A written test provided by the State of Michigan consisting of 20 questions must be completed with a passing score of 80%. Once you pass the written test, you will receive a Segment 2 Completion Certificate, AKA your ticket to taking the Road Test.
LEVEL TWO LICENSE:
After successful completion of Segment 2, students are eligible to take the road test (so long as they are age 16 and possessed the Level 1 license for a minimum of 6 months). Upon passing the road test (with a third party examiner), teens will then acquire a certificate and a Level 2 license. Level 2 teens can drive alone, however not between the hours of 10pm to 5am (with a few exceptions). This is also the level where the teen MAY NOT OPERATE A VEHICLE AT ANY TIME WITH MORE THAN 1 PASSENGER IN THE VEHICLE WHO IS LESS THAN 21 YEARS OF AGE (with a few exceptions).